The History of The Duke's Middle School

We are privileged to be housed in a unique and impressive Grade II listed building.  The original Duke's School was founded in 1810 by Hugh, 2nd Duke of Northumberland in commemoration of the jubilee year of George III's reign.
The foundation stone in Green Batt was laid on 25th October 1810 and on 12th August 1811 the buliding, which comprised of one school room with a school house attached, was opened for the enrolment of scholars.
When the present building was opened in July 1904, the school in Green Batt ws retained as a preparatory school which would feed its pupils into the Duke's School for Boys.
In September 1977, following the reorganisation of education throughout Northumberland to a three tier system, the school changed to a co-educational middle school.
Since that time the buildings have undergone significant change enabling the development of a modern 21st century learning environment for pupils of middle school age group.